RSS Feed

Opening Night

We have been season’s ticket holders for the Halifax Mooseheads for 12 seasons, same seats, same view. Opening home game for our 13th season is this Friday night, and it’s exciting. I have a new seat this year though, so that will be hard to get used to. Last season we only got 2 seats, and rotated between the three of us and bought the third seat beside us whenever we all went. That all changed at Christmas when someone else bought the two previously vacant seats next to us, and have renewed for this year, making the seat unavailable for us. So it was move or split up the family. This year is THE year for the Moose. In 13 years there have been other “THE” years, and we have had some great teams that went right to the end, but we have never won the whole deal. It would be nice to have that happen this year.

I love hockey. Never played hockey, never even played ringette, which I think was really getting going when I was of that age. Girls didn’t play organized hockey when I was young (long time ago..). But I always loved hockey on TV. Saturday nights watching Hockey Night in Canada with Dad, and having our team win all the time (take that Leafs fans), was a vivid memory of my childhood. Derek and my first date in 1997 was even to a Mooseheads game. When we still lived in Halifax we got tickets to the Memorial Cup in May 2000, unexpectedly they fell into our laps. It was one of the best times ever, and made the decision easy to get the season’s tickets. Soon after that Halifax was bidding for the World Jr. Tournament, and season ticket holders were given first dibs on their own seats, so naturally we went for it. We had to make the commitment about 18 months before the actual tournament which runs at Christmas time each year, and looked forward to it eagerly.

Well the next thing I know my due date with Alex is January 7, 2003, two days after the Gold Medal game! So the hoping and praying starts that we make it to the end! We also were still season ticket holders for the Mooseheads, so I was hauling it to games a few times a week plus looking forward to this tournament. So the short version is we made it, he was late – born January 10, 2003. And I went to 1, sometimes 2 games a day for 9 days, with a not happy hockey ending (Canada lost to Russia in the final that year and some dude named Ovechkin played for the Russians), but we had a happy ending a few days later.

Alex has gone to games beginning at 3 weeks old. He likes it, but doesn’t love it. He roams around the rink, well our area of the rink anyway, and wants me to go on walks with him regularly, but it’s okay.

So our new home season starts on Friday. The big news is our section is populated heavily with our family members this year. At last count I think it’s 10 of us scattered in the section, plus a new baby who doesn’t have her own seat yet! It will be a blast, and I look forward to it. So not only will I see some great hockey this year, I am also going to see some great family on a more regular basis. Maybe even have a brew or two.
Go MOOSE!

About alexs1mom

Mom of one quickly growing boy. Believe in God and try to practice my faith, unfortunately not always meeting my own expectations. Partner, daughter, sister, auntie and Proud Nova Scotian. Love a good Italian Pinot Grigio, and a cold beer on a hot day. Hockey fan, spend a whole lot of time in rinks and watching it on TV. Volunteer for stuff my kid is involved in and at church. List maker and wanna-be blogger. Love reading other blogs, subscribe to many and wish I could read them all regularly! Eternal optimist even if I shouldn’t be.

3 responses »

  1. Would love to spend a night in that section ….. They won’t know what hit them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

