RSS Feed

Happy New Year!

So in a few short days my boy will start Grade 4.  How did that happen?  It really seems like yesterday that I had to buy a step stool so he could get up on my bed, and I normally had to give a push to his diaper-clad bum to get the last bit of him up there.  He is starting on the “big kid” side of the school this year (Grades 4,5,6), and is not too happy about it.  I think he wishes he wasn’t getting older either, likely my fault too!

I think when you have a school age child you revert back to when the new school year really felt like a New Year.  I have never been a huge fan of January 1 celebrating – normally too tired and broke and stuck in the winter blues.  I like thinking about September as being the start of new things, and being a fan of the Fall season that ties in nicely.

It’s amazing how busy life gets around here when you flip the calendar over to September.   After a summer of just going to work and making sure I remembered which camp Alex was attending that day so I picked him up at the right spot, we are back to normal.  School, sports, courses (me), and hockey season starting!  Going to be an exciting year in Moose Country and I am looking forward to the fun stuff planned for the Fall. 

Who says busy can’t be fun?

About alexs1mom

Mom of one quickly growing boy. Believe in God and try to practice my faith, unfortunately not always meeting my own expectations. Partner, daughter, sister, auntie and Proud Nova Scotian. Love a good Italian Pinot Grigio, and a cold beer on a hot day. Hockey fan, spend a whole lot of time in rinks and watching it on TV. Volunteer for stuff my kid is involved in and at church. List maker and wanna-be blogger. Love reading other blogs, subscribe to many and wish I could read them all regularly! Eternal optimist even if I shouldn’t be.

One response »

  1. I feel like September is a good time for fresh starts as well! Feels more like the new year to me and I don’t even have school age kids! Will be happy to say goodbye to the sweltering heat and look forward to the changing colours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

